On exactly the 28th of September, the University of J. E. Purkyně (UJEP) opened with great fanfare. It was named after the prominent native of northern Bohemia, Jan Evangelista Purkyně, who ranks among the founders of biology, embryology, histology, modern pharmacology, comparative anatomy and anthropology. On an international scale he also gained recognition as one of the most well-known physiologists in the world.
From 1991 UJEP consisted of three faculties (the Faculty of Education, the Faculty of Social and Economic Studies, and the Faculty of the Environment) and the Institute of Slavic-Germanic Studies.

Členové týmu